A creme egg…

I know it was my fault. I know I should have put them away. I know that when it went silent I should have moved quicker. But still…

But still I was betrayed when the two of them climbed up on the bookcase to get a creme egg (each!) and eat it whilst they knew we weren’t looking.

I know that although the big one’s nearly 4 she’s still 2 emotionally and that therefore I shouldn’t expect a different reaction from her than from the little one. But still…

But still my blood boiled when there was no ‘sorry’, no remorse, no anything other than a sense of entitlement and a face covered in chocolate.

I know ‘ALL children’ will have done this at some point but still…

But still… I’m feeling an awful mixture of being really cross (irrational, they’re children, they’ve had to look for food in the past, it’s not about me) and worried about what’s next. Clearly my mind is skipping forward ten years and they’re stealing money from me or skipping on two years and they’re stealing food from other children at school. People tell me I’m overreacting and I probably am. But still…

Our day finished with our eldest lying in bed saying, “Mummy makes me sad. Not Daddy and Little One. Just mummy makes me sad.” People tell me that that’s because she trusts me enough to say that. That she can say that and I won’t leave. That it’s a good thing. But still…

2 thoughts on “A creme egg…

  1. That sounds so familiar! Try not to be too hard on yourself for being angry and frustrated. I’m not proud of how I reacted to behavior when we first became a family (and still react sometimes if I’m being honest). But I always do my best, and that’s all I can do. I’m sure the same goes for you. And p.s., it’s not an “all children” thing, I guarantee it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

