A letter to a social worker

Dear                      ,

I’m sorry that, although you work with children that have suffered trauma, you have no idea what that actually means.

I’m sorry that you feel the need to put it back on me that we’re having a hard time and that you can’t accept that you possibly needed to have done some more work with our children regarding the fact that they were going to be adopted. (Like, actually telling them that we were coming before they were sat in a room with us.)

I’m sorry that you have no idea about anything that these lovely girls have been up to for the last 9 and a half months, because you haven’t actually bothered to call or see them. Despite having legal rights for them still.

I’m sorry that you have no idea what ‘sensory craving’ means and how this might impact on us all.

I’m sorry that you have no idea what ‘hypersensitive’ means and how this might impact on us all.

I’m sorry that you haven’t bothered to ever find out what Adoption UK or any other adoption charity does.

I’m sorry that you were shocked to discover that wee girls who’ve been through what ours have been through might not actually just settle down and ‘with time’ lead perfectly ‘normal lives’.

I’m sorry that you felt it okay to say, after we had told you some of the things that were being disclosed, “Oh well, I’m not surprised really.”

And I am sorry because I can’t help but feel that if you had just an inkling of an understanding about any of this, then our start as a family might have been better. And the other children that you are currently working with might stand a chance to having a better start to the next part of their journey’s.

Leave a Reply

